Child Labor Laws State of Connecticut
Minimum Wage Requirement
- Connecticut law requires employers to abide by the state's minimum wage requirement for minors. Generally, this requirement is a percentage of the state's minimum wage. If you are a minor working in agriculture or government, your employer must pay you at least 85 percent of the state minimum wage, which, as of August, 2010, was $8.25.
If you are a minor working in another industry, your employer is only obliged to pay you 85 percent of the state minimum wage rate for your first 200 hours of employment.
Per this formula, Connecticut minors meeting these requirements must be paid at least $7.01 per hour as of August, 2010.
Time and Hour Requirements
- To ensure the welfare and safety of minors, Connecticut law requires minors between the ages of 16 and 17 to only work within certain times, which may vary depending on the industry and whether school is in session.
For example, if you are a minor who works in the restaurant industry, you may only work from 6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. during school weeks; you may work until 12:00 a.m. (midnight) if you are not attending school, there is a school vacation, or if the following day is not a school day. Generally, you may not work for more than six hours on any given day or 32 hours in any given week when school is in session. Nonetheless, you may work for up to eight hours only on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays when school is in session.
When school is not in session, you may work for up to eight hours a day or 48 hours a week. However, you may only work for up to six days a week.
If you work in the retail/mercantile industry, you may only from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. during school weeks; you may work until 11:00 p.m. if you are not attending school, there is a school vacation or if the following day is not a school day. You may also work until 12:00 a.m. if you work in a supermarket that is no more than 3,500 square feet in size and you are not attending school the following day.
If school is not in session, you may work for up to eight hours a day and 48 hours a week for a maximum of six days.
If you are a minor who has withdrawn from school, you may only adhere to the non-school week requirements.
- Before beginning employment in the state, all minors under the age of 18 must obtain a statement of age/working pPaper. If you are a minor, you can obtain this document by going to your local public high school; you may also obtain the document by contacting the superintendent of sSchools. Employers may not hire minors under the age of 18 without this document.