Health & Medical Traditional Chinese medicine

Acupuncture Meridians - Where They Are & What They Do

Acupuncture is one of the oldest forms of health care on the planet.
It dates back to 3000 BC and experts theorize that it is even older than that - dating back to the Stone Age.
But what exactly is acupuncture, what are meridians and how on earth does it contribute to better health? Let's take a look at these questions individually, specifically the meridians and how they affect your body.
What is Acupuncture? Acupuncture is the practice of using very fine needles to access and manipulate the energy in your body.
The energy system flows throughout your body connecting everything.
It can be accessed and influenced through 500 various acupuncture points connected by specific points called meridians.
They are the pathways of your positive, and negative energy that influence every system and function in your body.
This energy can become blocked or imbalanced and it is the practice of acupuncture to eliminate blockages and balance energy for optimal health.
The Meridians While there are about 500 acupuncture points, there are twelve main meridians connecting them.
These twelve lie along your arms and your legs.
The Yin and the Yang are flip sides of the same coin.
When balanced they result in optimal health and happiness, when unbalanced, life and health are unbalanced.
The Yin is associated with negative, dark, passive, cold, wet, and feminine.
The Yang is positive, bright, active, dry, hot and masculine.
Each of the 12 main meridians also has a yin or yang element.
These twelve meridians are located: oAlong the inside of your arms from your body to your fingertips - Yin oAlong the outside of your arm from your fingertips to your face - Yang oAlong the outside of your leg from your face to your feet - Yang oAnd along the inside of your leg from your feet to your body - Yin These 12 main meridians affect the following organs: 1.
Lungs 2.
Large Intestine, 3.
Stomach, 4.
Spleen, 5.
Heart, 6.
Small Intestine, 7.
Urinary Bladder, 8.
Kidney, 9.
Pericardium, 10.
Triple Warmer - This meridian affects the thyroid and the adrenal glands which regulate your metabolism and affect your immune system and has a profound affect on your stress reaction.
Gall Bladder, 12.
and Liver.
Yin Arm meridians include your lung, heart, and pericardium and the Yang Arm include your large intestine, small intestine, and triple warmer.
Your leg Yin Meridians are your spleen, kidney, and liver and your leg Yang Meridians are your stomach, bladder, and gall bladder.
Each of your organs, as you probably already know, play a valuable and essential function in the effectiveness of your overall health and the optimal functioning of your body.
When one is out of balance, blocked, or not functioning optimally your entire body and even your emotional state can be significantly affected.
Acupuncture and the practice of balancing the body's energy through accessing meridians is a long standing healing method for a reason - it works.

You might also like on "Health & Medical"

Leave a reply